Curling Champions Cup 2022: Schedule, Prize money and Coverage

Curling Champions Cup 2022: Schedule, Prize money and Coverage

Huge homerun of Curling Champions Cup 2022 will be held from May 5 to May 8 at the Olds Sportsplex in Olds. Here, you will know when, where and how to watch the competition alongside the players.


12 men’s groups and 12 ladies’ groups will be taking an interest in the competition.

  • Reigning champ: The group drove by Bruce Mouat from Scotland.

During the 2021-22 season, his group has won the Masters and the Princess Auto Players’ Championship, separately. Mouat additionally came out on top for the European Championship and a silver award at the Winter Olympic Games in Sochi, Russia.

It will likewise be the last competition for Brad Jacobs’ group with the Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., Greyhounds before retirement. At the Players’ Championship, Anna Hasselborg and her group from Sweden impacted the world forever by turning into the principal ladies’ group to win a Career Grand Slam in the game’s set of experiences.

Here, you will have a deep understanding of the competition.

Champions Cup Curling 2022 Schedule:

The tournament will begin on Thursday, May 5, and will continue till Sunday, May 8. Here is the full schedule of the tournament.

  • Round Robin: Thursday, May 5- Friday, May 6
  • Tiebreakers: Saturday, May 7
  • Quarter Final: Saturday, May 7
  • Semi-Final Saturday, May 7
  • Final: Sunday, May 8

The Champions Cup Grand Slam of Curling 2022 competition will happen at the Olds Sportsplex in Olds, Alta. This is a field with two ice surfaces and a six-sheet Curling office. Thus, purchase your tickets and catch the activities from the setting.

How to Watch KIOTI Tractor Champions Cup on TV and Online in 2022?

The Curling Champions Cup will be solely communicated on Sportsnet. Sportsnet East, Sportsnet West. Sportsnet One and Sportsnet 360 will cover this competition for the fans.

In this way, you really want these channels on your TV box to watch the Curling Grand Slam from home.

Sporstnet Now and Sportsnet application will live stream the Curling Championship. The membership expense is $14.99/month, which will give you admittance to all the Sportsnet networks including east, west, one, and 360.

TV Broadcasting Schedule:
Date Time (ET) TV Channel
Thursday, May 5 2 p.m. Sportsnet
Thursday, May 5 6 p.m. Sportsnet East
Thursday, May 5 10 p.m. Sportsnet ONE
Friday, May 6 2 p.m Sportsnet
Friday, May 6 6 p.m. Sportsnet West
Friday, May 6 10 p.m. Exclusively online (Sportsnet NOW)
Saturday, May 7 2 p.m. Sportsnet ONE
Saturday, May 7 6 p.m. Sportsnet 360
Saturday, May 7 10 p.m. Sportsnet 360
Sunday, May 8 12 p.m. Sportsnet 360
Sunday, May 8 4 p.m. Sportsnet ONE
Champions Cup Format:

Here is the format of the tournament:

  • A round-robin format is used in both the men’s and women’s divisions, with each division being divided into two pools of six teams.
  • There are a total of six teams in the playoffs who have the best overall records, with the top two teams receiving byes into the semifinals.
  • It is possible that tiebreakers will be required to determine the final positions.
  • The no-tick, free-guard zone will be utilized during the Champions Cup.
  • During the first five rocks of an end, teams are not permitted to remove guards from the field of play or tick guards who are sitting on the middle line.
Men’s Qualification:
Qualifying Event Team
2022 Winter Olympics Niklas Edin
2021 Players’ Championship Bruce Mouat
2021 National Brad Gushue
2021 Tim Hortons Brier Brendan Bottcher
2021 IG Wealth Management Western Showdown Kevin Koe
2021 United States Men’s Curling Championship Korey Dropkin
2021 ATB Banff Classic John Epping
2021 DeKalb Superspiel Jason Gunnlaugson
2021 Vesta Energy Curling Classic Ryan Jacques
2021 Pacific-Asia Curling Championships Kim Chang-min
Sponsor’s Exemption Brad Jacobs
2022 Alberta Curling Tour Championship Karsten Sturmay
Champions Cup Bracket in 2022:
Men’s Pool
Team Jacobs 3 3 0
Team Edin 2 2 0
Team S. Kim 2 2 0
Team Koe 3 2 1
Team Sturmay 2 1 1
Team Gunnlaugson 2 1 1
Team Gushue 2 1 1
Team Mouat 3 1 2
Team Bottcher 3 1 2
Team Epping 2 0 2
Team Dropkin 2 0 2
Team Jacques 2 0 2
Women’s Pool
Team Tirinzoni 3 3 0
Team Einarson 3 3 0
Team Hasselborg 2 2 0
Team Homan 2 1 1
Team Fleury 2 1 1
Team Dupont 2 1 1
Team Holland 2 1 1
Team Gim 2 1 1
Team E.J. Kim 3 1 2
Team Peterson 2 0 2
Team Christensen 2 0 2
Team Jones 3 0 3
Prize money:
  • Total prize Money: $210,000
  • Winning Team: $25,000
Men’s Previous Winners:
  • 2016: Ontario (Reid Carruthers, Braeden Moskowy, Derek Samagalski, Colin Hodgson)
  • 2017: Ontario (Brad Jacobs, Ryan Fry, E.J. Harnden, Ryan Harnden)
  • 2018: Newfoundland and Labrador (Brad Gushue, Mark Nichols, Brett Gallant, Geoff Walker)
  • 2019: Alberta (Brendan Bottcher, Darren Moulding, Brad Thiessen, Karrick Martin)
  • 2020: Canceled due to COVID
  • 2021: Scotland (Bruce Maouat, Grant Hardie, Bobby Lammie, Hammy McMillan Jr.)
Women’s Previous Winners:
  • 2016: Ontario (Jennifer Jones, Kaitlyn Lawes, Jill Officer, Dawn McEwen)
  • 2017: Ontario (Rachel Homan, Emma Miskew, Sarah Wilkes, Lisa Weagle)
  • 2018: Ontario (Rachel Homan, Emma Miskew, Joanne Courtney, Lisa Weagle)
  • 2019: Switzerland (Silvana Tirinzoni, Alina Patz, Esther Neuenschwander, Melanie Barbezat)
  • 2020: Canceled because of COVID
  • 2021: Ontario (Rachel Homan, Emma Miskew, Sarah Wilkes, Joanne Courtney)

Share This Post

Post Comment