Who is in the 2022 Basketball Hall of Fame class? Manu Ginobili, Tim Hardaway headline 13 honorees

Who is in the 2022 Basketball Hall of Fame class? Manu Ginobili, Tim Hardaway headline 13 honorees

On Saturday, April 2, 2022, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 13 members set to be enshrined in the Class of 2022.

The Hall of Fame Class of 2022 will be celebrated on Sept. 9 and 10 at the enshrinement festivities in Springfield, Massachusetts. The talent ranges from Spurs legend Manu Ginobili and WNBA superstar Swin Cash to coaching great George Karl.

Take a look at the full list of 13 members set to enter the Hall of Fame this year.

Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022

Ginobili spent all 16 seasons of his NBA career with the Spurs, winning four championships to go with two All-Star bids, two All-NBA selections and a Sixth Man of the Year award.

Hardaway played 15 seasons in the NBA, earning five All-Star selections and five All-NBA honors across his time with the Warriors and Heat. Hardaway was known for his killer crossover and his impact on the Warriors’ “Run TMC” era, alongside Hall of Famers Chris Mullin and Mitch Richmond.

Cash is a two-time NCAA champion, a three-time WNBA champion and a four-time WNBA All-Star. She also won two Olympic gold medals with Team USA and was named one of the 20 best WNBA players of all time in 2016. Cash is currently an executive with the NBA’s Pelicans.

Karl played five seasons in the NBA before embarking on a 27-year career as a coach. He tallied 1,175 wins over 27 seasons, ranking him sixth all-time. Karl made the playoffs in 22 years as a head coach and earned Coach of the Year with the Nuggets in 2013.

Huggins is a college basketball coaching legend, still currently the head coach at West Virginia. He has led his teams to 25 NCAA Tournament appearances and two Final Fours, accruing over 900 wins (and counting) for his career.

Lindsay Whalen

Whalen is a five-time WNBA All-Star, five-time All-WNBA selection, four-time WNBA champion and two-time Olympic gold medalist. She ranks third all-time in assists (2,345) and led the WNBA in assists five times. She was recognized as one of the 20 best WNBA players of all time in 2016.

Marianne Stanley

Stanley has coached at the collegiate and professional level for a combined 45 years and counting, as she is still currently the head coach of the Fever. She has three Final Four appearances and one national championship as an NCAA head coach and earned WNBA Coach of the Year in 2002.

Hugh Evans

Evans served as an NBA official for 28 consecutive years from 1973 to 2001. He refereed over 1,900 regular season games, 170 playoff games, 35 NBA Finals games and four NBA All-Star Games. Evans also worked as the NBA Assistant Supervisor of Officials from 2001 to 2003.

Lou Hudson

Hudson was a six-time NBA All-Star who averaged 20.2 points and 4.4 rebounds per game over 13 NBA seasons and had his No. 23 jersey retired by the St. Louis/Atlanta Hawks.

Larry Costello

Costello was a six-time All-Star and one-time champion as a player and one-time champion as a coach. Costello is credited as “one of the first people to employ a working, accountable assistant coach and employ videotape to analyze the game,” per the NBA’s official Hall of Fame release.

Del Harris

Harris coached for over 50 years at all levels of the sport – from junior high hoops to the NBA. Harris served as an assistant or head coach for 35 years in the NBA, most notably leading the Rockets to the 1981 NBA Finals and winning Coach of the Year in 1995. Harris is currently the Vice President of the Mavericks G League affiliate, the Texas Legends, and provides game analysis for the Mavericks on Bally Sports Southwest.

Theresa Shank-Grentz

Shank-Grentz was a member of three consecutive AIAW National Championship teams and was a three-time All-American at Immaculata University from 1972-74. The 1974 title game was the first-ever live coverage of a women’s basketball game in the United States. She scored over 1,000 career points at Immaculata.

Radivoj Korac

Korac is known as Yugoslavia’s first basketball superstar, helping lead the country to the silver medal at the 1968 Olympics after leading all players in averaging 23.6 points per game during the games. He also led Yugoslavia to silver medals in 1963 and 1967. He was named one of FIBA’s Greatest Players in 1991 and was enshrined in the FIBA Hall of Fame in 2007.

Share This Post

Post Comment