IIHF World U18 Championship 2022: Start Time, Schedule, Teams, and how to watch

IIHF World U18 Championship 2022: Start Time, Schedule, Teams, and how to watch

The 2022 IIHF World U18 Championship will be held from April 21 to May 1 in Germany. Here, you will know when, where, and how to watch the competition alongside the groups partaking.


The current year’s opposition has eight nations vieing for a gold decoration. It’s one of the last opportunities for draft-qualified competitors to show their capacities on a worldwide stage before the NHL Draft this mid year.

A portion of the world’s most prominent 16-, 17-, and 18-year-old hockey players will assemble in Germany this end of the week for the 2022 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship.

As of late, players like Jack Hughes, Cole Caufield, Miro Heiskanen, and Jesperi Kotkaniemi have illuminated the opposition, using it to earn the consideration of NHL scouts. These adolescents going after nine days address their countries, yet additionally the NHL’s future.

Who is playing in the 2022 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship?

This year, only eight teams are participating in the U18 tournament.

It typically has 10 teams, but the IIHF has suspended all Russia and Belarus national teams from competing in international tournaments.

As a result, only eight teams are in the top tournament. All eight teams will make the playoffs and no team will be relegated. The two top teams from the Division I tournament, Slovakia and Norway will be promoted next year to the top division.

Canada Sweden
United States Finland
Czechia Switzerland
Germany Latvia
When is the 2022 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship?
  • Start: Saturday, April 23
  • End: Sunday, May 1

The tournament begins with group play on April 23, 24 and 26.

The playoffs begin on April 28 with the four quarterfinal matchups, then the semifinals on April 30 and, finally, the bronze medal and gold medal games on May 1.

Sat., April 23 8:30 a.m. Finland 6, Switzerland 2
Sat., April 23 9:30 a.m. Czechia 4, Germany 2
Sat., April 23 12:30 p.m. Latvia 3, Sweden 2
Sat., April 23 1:30 p.m. Canada 3, United States 8
Sun., April 24 8:30 a.m. Finland 4, Latvia 1
Sun., April 24 9:30 a.m. United States 6, Czechia 2
Sun., April 24 12:30 p.m. Sweden 6, Switzerland 2
Sun., April 24 1:30 p.m. Germany 3, Canada 8
Tues., April 26 8:30 a.m. Switzerland 4, Latvia 3
Tues., April 26 9:30 a.m. Canada vs. Czechia
Tues., April 26 12:30 p.m. Sweden vs. Finland
Tues., April 26 1:30 p.m. United States vs. Germany
Thurs., April 28 8:30 a.m. Quarterfinals
Thurs., April 28 9:30 a.m. Quarterfinals
Thurs., April 28 12:30 p.m. Quarterfinals
Thurs., April 28 1:30 p.m. Quarterfinals
Sat., April 30 8:30 a.m. Semifinals
Sat., April 30 12:30 p.m. Semifinals
Sun., May 1 8:30 a.m. Bronze Medal Game
Sun., May 1 12:30 p.m. Gold Medal Game
How to watch the 2022 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship?
  • US TV: NHL Network
  • US Stream: Sling TV, FuboTV

All the games involving the United States will be broadcast on NHL Network, in addition to two of the quarterfinal matchups, both semifinals and the championship game.

You can stream the NHL Network on Sling TV, Fubo TV or DIRECTV STREAM.

  • Canada TV: TSN
  • Canada Stream: TSN.ca, TSN app

The games involving Team Canada will be broadcast on TSN, in addition to two of the quarterfinal matchups, both semifinals and the championship game.

You can stream TSN on TSN.ca or through the TSN app.

Where is the 2022 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship?

The current year’s U18 World Championship is occurring in Germany. There are two host urban areas for the 2022 competition, Landshut and Kaufbeuren.

Landshut will have the Group A games, two of the quarterfinals, the two elimination rounds and the bronze and gold award games at Fanatec Arena. Bunch B will play in Kaufbeuren at Erdgas Schwaben Arena, notwithstanding the other two quarterfinal challenges.

Who are the past winners of the IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship?

Nobody has overwhelmed on the global U18 stage very like the U.S. has. The nation has 10 gold awards in the occasion, six a larger number of than the following nearest country. Notwithstanding, the U.S. has not won the competition beginning around 2017. Altogether, the Americans lead with 17 decorations.

2021 Canada Russia Sweden
2020 N/A* N/A* N/A*
2019 Sweden Russia United States
2018 Finland United States Sweden
2017 United States Finland Russia
2016 Finland Sweden United States
2015 United States Finland Canada
2014 United States Czech Republic Canada
2013 Canada United States Finland
2012 United States Sweden Canada
2011 United States Sweden Russia
2010 United States Sweden Finland
2009 United States Russia Finland
2008 Canada Russia United States
2007 Russia United States Sweden
2006 United States Finland Czech Republic
2005 United States Canada Sweden
2004 Russia United States Czech Republic
2003 Canada Slovakia Russia
2002 United States Russia Czech Republic
2001 Russia Switzerland Finland
2000 Finland Russia Sweden
1999 Finland Sweden Slovakia

2020 tournament canceled due to COVID-19

Share This Post

Post Comment