AFC Champions League 2022: When is it, competing teams, groups, prize money, star players and past ACL winners

AFC Champions League 2022: When is it, competing teams, groups, prize money, star players and past ACL winners

The 2022 release of the AFC Champions League has formally started off with Asia’s best groups competing to be delegated bosses of the landmass.

Saudi Arabian monsters Al-Hilal asserted the title last year in the wake of overcoming Pohang Steelers 2-0 in the last.

Here’s everything you need to know about the current campaign…

When are games being played for the AFC Champions League 2022?
Stage  Date (East Region) Date (West Region)
Group stage MD1 April 15-16 April 7-8
Group stage MD2 April 18-19 April 10-11
Group stage MD3 April 21-22 April 14-15
Group stage MD4 April 24-25 April 18-19
Group stage MD5  April 27-28 April 22-23
Group stage MD6 April 30 – May 1 April 26-27
Round of 16 August 18-19 February 3-4 (2023)
Quarter-finals August 22 February 7 (2023)
Semi-finals  August 25 February 10 (2023)
Final (First leg) February 19, 2023
Final (Second leg) February 26, 2023

The AFC Champions League bunch stage should start in February however was deferred by two months because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

That defer implies the whole gathering stage has been fit into a solitary month with the last then not occurring until February 2023.

The following release of the AFC Champions League isn’t supposed to start until the center of 2023.

Which teams are competing in the AFC Champions League in 2022?

A total of 39 teams will be competing in the AFC Champions League group stage after Shanghai Port were forced to withdraw due to China’s COVID situation.

The competition was expanded from 32 to 40 teams in 2021.

These are the teams vying for the title in 2022:

Club Country Group
Al-Hilal Saudi Arabia A
Al-Rayyan Qatar A
Istiklol Tajikistan A
Sharjak United Arab Emirates A
Al-Jazira United Aram Emirates B
Al-Shabab Saudi Arabia B
Mumbai City India B
Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya Iraq B
Ahal Turkmenistan C
Shabab Al-Ahli United Arab Emirates C
Al-Gharafa Qatar C
Foolad Iran C
Sepahan Iran D
Al-Taawoun Saudi Arabia D
Al-Duhail Qatar D
Pakhtakor Uzbekistan D
Al-Sadd Qatar E
Al-Faisaly Saudi Arabia E
Al-Wehdat Jordan E
Nasaf Qarshi Uzbekistan E
Shandong Taishan China F
Urawa Red Diamonds Japan F
Lion City Sailors Singapore F
Daegu FC South Korea F
BG Pathum United Thailand G
Jeonnam Dragons South Korea G
United City Philippines G
Melbourne City Australia G
Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors South Korea H
Yokohama F. Marinos Japan H
Hoang Anh Gia Lai Vietnam H
Sydney FC Australia H
Kawasaki Frontale Japan I
Guangzhou China I
Johor Darul Ta’zim Malaysia I
Ulsan Hyundai South Korea I
Chiangrai United Thailand J
Kitchee Hong Kong J
Vissel Kobe Japan J
AFC Champions League prize money: How much do teams get?

Aside from the actual title, progressing in and winning the ACL brings with it a significant amount of prize money for clubs.

This is how the prize money will be distributed in 2022:

Result Prize money (USD)
Group stage win $50,000
Group stage draw $10,000
Round of 16 $100,000
Quarter-finals $150,000
Semi-finals $250,000
Runners-up $2,000,000
Champions $4,000,000
Star players to watch out for in the AFC Champions League 2022

As could be, there are an entire host of stars contending in the AFC Champions League in 2022.

Previous Barcelona star Andres Iniesta will arrange for Japanese side Vissel Kobe and is joined by another ex-Barca player as Bojan Krkic.

Qatari club Al Sadd, who were recently trained by Barcelona chief Xavi, likewise brag a few major names through previous Premier League team Santi Cazorla and Andre Ayew.

AFC Champions League past winners

Al-Hilal became the competition’s most successful club when they collected their fourth title in 2021.

They were previously level with Pohang Steelers, who have lifted the trophy three times.

South Korea remain the most successful country in the ACL with their clubs lifting the title 12 times.

Here are the most recent AFC Champions League winners:

Club Year
Al-Hilal 2021
Ulsan Hyundai 2020
Al-Hilal 2019
Kashima Antlers 2018
Urawa Red Diamonds 2017
Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors 2016
Guangzhou Evergrande 2015
Western Sydney Wanderers 2014
Guangzhou Evergrande 2013
Ulsan Hyundai 2012


Share This Post

Post Comment